President's Advisory Team Minutes

December 18, 2019

President's Advisory Team Members in attendance:

Humberto Aristizabal, Associate Vice President of Institutional Equity and Title IX Coordinator

Eric Berkheimer, Associate Vice President of Facilities and Capital Management

Jason Curtin, Vice President of Advancement and External Affairs

Gerard DiBartolo, Director of Athletics and Campus Recreation

Susan Eagle, Associate Vice President of Marketing and Communications

Kelly Fiala, Transitional Dean, College of Health and Human Services

Dane Foust, Vice President of Student Affairs

Clifton Griffin, Dean, Graduate Studies and Research

Bea Hardy, Dean, Libraries and Instructional Resources

Laurie Henry, Dean, Seidel School of Education

Ken Kundell, Chief Information Officer

Edwin Lashley, Chief, University Police

Andrew Martino, Dean, Honors College

Eli Modlin, Chief of Staff

Karen Olmstead, Provost and Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs

Kara Owens, Associate Vice President for Planning & Assessment

Maarten Pereboom, Dean, Fulton School of Liberal Arts

Tabitha Pilchard, President, Staff Senate

Tony Pasquariello for Marvin Pyles, Vice President of Administration and Finance

Valerie Randall-Lee, Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Jason Rhodes, Director of Public Relations and University Spokesperson

Michael Scott, Dean, Henson School of Science and Technology

Wallace Southerland, Associate Vice President, Student Affairs

Brian Stiegler, Assistant Provost for International Education

Karen Treber, osregP4hS3|| 6Ru(na)srit|Re80uraese M34o5r ÍSncber ssociate Vice President for

Christy Weer, Dean, Perdue School of Business

Charles Wight, President

Richard Wilkens, Associate Provost

Adam Wood, President, Faculty Senate

1. Welcoming and Opening Remarks – President Charles Wight

- o Dr. Wight welcomed the group to the meeting.
- Dr. Wight called this meeting to provide an overview of our continued commitment to Diversity and Inclusion.

2. Diversity and Inclusion

• The offices of Office of Institutional Equity (OIE) and the Office of Diversity and Inclusion (ODI) have been separated into two distinct offices.

0

- **a.** Administration will hold open office hours in the coming year.
- **b.** Quarterly Community Town Hall meetings will be held, the first meeting is scheduled for January 28, 2020 at 6 p.m. in the Wicomico Room.
- **c.** Anonymous reporting of concerns is available on the SU President's web page.
- **d.** Communication improvements have been made with additional sources available through telephone text system, Instagram, Twitter and additional information listed on the SU website.
- e. Restructuring campus offices:
 - The Office of Diversity and Inclusion was made independent from OIE and currently reports to the President's Office. The ODI is located in Blackwell to better support the Center.
 - Multicultural Student Services and the office of Cultural Affairs will become part of the ODI in January
- **f.** A campus climate study is underway. The study's scope is broad but much of the focus is on diversity and inclusion.
- **g.** Help is needed with identifying programs and committees that each Division provides as related to diversity and inclusion to create a one-stop resource.
- **h.** A strong reliance will be placed on Shared Governance with decisions moving forward.